Things a Workers’ Compensation Claims Adjuster May Not Tell You
After suffering an injury while at work in Vermont, you can file a workers’ compensation claim and obtain benefits. During your workers’ compensation claim, you will be dealing with a claims adjuster from your employer’s insurance company. A workers’ compensation claims adjuster is responsible for facilitating and managing your workers’ compensation claim. They are responsible for analyzing and validating your claim, determining the amount of compensation you are entitled to, and negotiating with you. Workers’ compensation claims adjusters are a crucial part of the workers’ compensation process. However, you need to keep in mind that because the claims adjuster is an employee of the workers’ compensation insurance company, they are not your friend. A claims adjuster’s primary concern is to save the insurance company money.
In an effort to save their employers money, workers’ compensation insurance claims adjusters often fail to share certain crucial information with injured workers. The following are some of the things workers’ compensation claims adjusters often don’t tell claimants;
- You Can Choose Your Medical Provider
When you want to change doctors, the workers’ compensation claims adjuster may make it look like you cannot do so. Indeed, in Vermont, after you suffer a work-related injury, your employer can direct you to a company physician for your first medical visit. However, according to Vermont law, after your first medical visit, you have the right to change medical providers. In fact, after your first medical visit, you can choose multiple doctors and get multiple opinions, and the insurance company must cover all the medical costs.
- Your Weekly Wage Replacement Benefits Must Be the Correct Amount
Another thing the workers’ compensation claims adjuster may not tell you is that your weekly wage replacement benefits must include raises, overtime pay, bonuses, and cost-of-living adjustment (COLA). If they don’t share this information, you will not know if your benefit payment is the right amount. The adjuster may also not tell you that in July 2023, the dependent benefit increased from $10 to $20 per child per week in Vermont. If you have children under the age of 21, the weekly benefits for each dependent child is $20. In addition, the dependent benefit now applies to temporary partial disability benefits as well as to temporary total disability benefits. Before, it only applied to temporary total disability benefits.
- Your Benefits Must Arrive on Time
You are entitled to receive your weekly benefits on the same day every week. Your payment should not be delayed, and if it is, you can recover late fees. Late payments can result in financial stress if you have bills to pay and needs to meet. Some insurance companies even delay making payments so the victim can get frustrated and give up on getting benefits.
- Your Payments Can Be Deposited Into Your Bank Account
Finally, the workers’ compensation claims adjuster may not tell you that your benefits can be deposited into your bank account. However, to have your payment deposited directly into your bank account, you will need to request the insurance company to do so. If you ask that your weekly payment be made directly to your bank account, the insurance company must make direct deposits.
Contact a Vermont Workers’ Compensation Attorney
If you have a workers’ compensation case, contact a qualified Vermont workers’ compensation attorney at Sluka Law PLC for a free consultation.